26 January 2013

Cape Town Motocross Club


The first round of the Cape Town Motocross club (CTMX) championship attracted 123 entries and was supported by crowds of spectators which packed the Zone 7 facility to virtual capacity. There was brilliant racing in all classes and all the big names were there. Although the wind became somewhat unpleasant and dried the track very quickly, scintillating racing was still enjoyed by all.

In the 50cc juniors it was little Hennie Roux who blasted his way to the front in both heats and secured his spot on top of the box. Krige Van Der Merwe and Matthew Carmichael put up a brave fight and came in second and third respectively. Hennie Roux will certainly be a contender in the new National 50cc junior category.

In the 50cc Pro senior class, Ike Klaassen was noticeably quicker, but Calum Marriott displayed great determination and riding skill to pull in second in all three heats. Marriott was just over one second per lap behind Klaassen, so this is going to be an interesting battle as the year progresses. Ollie Glover came in third. Some brilliant racing was also provided further down the field by Storm Lanfear and John Henri Vaughan.

In the 65cc class, it was Storm van Den Heever who secured the win but was admirably challenged by Ethan Coleman and Chris Erasmus. Van den Heever got stronger as the day progressed and dominated the second heat. Storm looked very comfortable on the hard pack track and is sure to make an impact in the national series. Van den Heever also got the junior rider of the day award.

In the 85cc small wheel class (heat1), Justin Sangster, blasted his opposition into the wind as he hole shotted the field of 25 riders. He led from start to finish and was merciless in his onslaught to beat the older 12 year old boys. He secured the hole shot in heat 2 as well and had built up a substantial lead by the third lap, when he put it down. He went down a lap and a half and although he very nearly got to the front by the final lap, he had to settle for third place giving him a second overall for the day. Jason Du Toit on his KTM was consistent and rode a solid race which secured him the overall first place. Josh Geringer also provided a gutsy performance to come in third. All these boys will be participating in the WOMZA national series this year.

Justin Sangster taking the holeshot in both heats

In the Pro-mini class Chad Homan came in first, Brad Sullivan second and Dorian Cordiner, third. In the 125cc high school class Dylan Stokes slaughtered the opposition. Conor Fletcher came in second and young Matt van Galen, earned a respectable third. Maria Pulinckx is back and mixed it with the boys. She is determined to get back to her old form after her unfortunate injury which forced her out of racing for a full year.

In the MX 2 class (Heat 1) Calvin Vlaanderen proved why he was one of the best in the world as he clawed back from third place to take the win. Calvin was clinical and was all over Justin Mittens (Rover MX) on his KTM 250 by lap three. In lap 4 he passed Mittens in a sandy corner. Even Caleb Tennant had no answer for the multiple SA champion. In Heat 2, it was Tennant who got out front and lead from start to finish. Caleb is looking very smooth on his Kawasaki and he is still working on some fitness aspects ahead of the Nationals. With the heat 2 win, Tennant secured first overall. Vlaanderen came in second and Justin Mittens, third.

Team mates – Dale Herring is passed in the air by his ORBIS racing team mate Kevin Sangster in the MX 2 class.

In the MX 1 class Anthony Raynard treated the spectators to some spectacular techniques as he was intent on lapping the field. Raynard is already making his intentions known ahead of round 1 of the national series. Second was Dylan Donald and third was a resurgent Jan Ryan.

In the Intermediate class Waldo De Wet came in first, Devan Marais was second and Scott Kirkbridge, third.

The VMX guys joined in the fun and the crowds really enjoyed watching these old machines, which are always polished and prepared to perfection. Adrian De Hutton (Flatline senior rider of the day) was first, De Nobriega was second and Caldwell third.

In the ladies class Puck Klaassen ended on top of the box, Bo-dene Scott was second and Elizmay Phillips third.
The MX 3 class saw a titanic battle between Terence Monk and Alex Combrink, with Monk eventually coming through. Greg Miller ended up in third. Monk and Combrink will certainly be contenders in the national series this year.

Well done to CTMX for presenting another brilliant race day and thanks to all the loyal supporters and suppliers for standing behind the club. 2013 is going to be great as MX is taken to another level in Cape Town.

For more information please go to www.ctmx.co.za

Close this Window