29 May 2013

by Laren van der Westhuizen

Dirt Bronco held round 4 of the Womza Full Throttle motocross champs. The track was in prime condition and Ernie worked above and beyond the call of duty to make the event as professional as possible.
The day was absolutely perfect weather-wise and this meant the racing would be awesome.
There were about 150 entries and although some big names decided to sit out in preparation for the TEZA national, the racing was still top notch.

The 50cc junior class was absolutely awesome to watch. With passing and mixing it up like we have never seen before, it shows there is some real talent coming through. Barent DuToit was the man to beat and won both heats by far. It was the battle for 2nd that was great. Eventually 2nd went to Aeron Wecke and 3rd went to the lady superstar, Emma Jennings. James Thompson had an awesome ride, but bad luck put him in 4th for the day.

#101 Barend du Toit

The 50cc pro class was equally as good to watch. Vincent Van Rooy got his familiar good start and lead heat 1 under big pressure from Jono Mlimi. In the final lap, they came together and both crashed. Jono got up first and won the race. Vincent had to settle for 2nd ahead of Hayden Tully. Camden McLellan missed heat 1 for school sport reasons, but would arrive in time for heat 2 and finish a solid 2nd behind Jono Mlimi, who has just found another gear lately.

The 65cc class was won by Dalton Venter. He is poetry to watch on a bike, but this time, Christiaan Cilliers had him in check all the way. Christiaan had a fear of jumping after some injuries, but finally has broken the shackles and is jumping all the jumps. He finished a strong 2nd, but was pushed to the line by Camden McLellan in heat 2. Jono Mlimi finished 4th.

#151 Dalton Venter

The 85cc class produced the ride and rider of the day. Ruben Aucamp holeshotted heat 1 and managed to hold Slade Smith off till the chequered flag. To prove it wasn't a fluke, he passed Slade Smith in the 2nd straight of heat 2 and managed to pull off his first ever regional overall win. He got the "works connection" rider of the day award. Slade Smith was fast, but a few mistakes at crucial times meant 2nd was all he could do. Mathew Kruger was his normal solid self in 3rd place.

The pro-mini class saw Marcus Phelps holeshot and end his race with mechanical failure in the 2nd corner. This left Tristan Tredoux in the lead and would hold it for 10min under bug pressure from Justin Thompson. Eventually Thompson would pass and check out. Joshua Mlimi made the pass for 2nd. In heat 2, Marcus Phelps holeshotted again and checked out. He had Justin Thompson and Josh Mlimi battling for 2nd, but Thompson did enough to win the overall. Marco DeVrye didn't have the best day, but showed his talent by still finishing 3rd overall.

#30 Ruben Aucamp

The 125 class was a 2 horse battle between Charalambous and Visser. Both riders won 1 heat, but Visser got a 2nd and a first for the overall over Charalambous who got a 1st and a 3rd. Marco Ras surprised everyone with an amazing ride for 2nd in heat 2 and received an award from the Grill Shop for his efforts. Marco finished 3rd overall ahead of Tyrone Nel.

The MX2B class was thrown in with the MX2 class, making it a full start line. Jason Visser entered for more practice and beat many top MX2 riders. He won ahead of Nicholas Phelps and Graham Obery.

#14 Jason Visser

The MX2 class was won by Sacha Naude. He is so fast on a 250 and we need to see more of him on it. Grant Frerichs did make it tough for him by holeshotting heat1 and getting a gap whilst Sacha was stuck in traffic, but Sacha was too strong and Grant had to ride for 2nd. Grant throws the "sickest" turn down whips and was awesome for the crowd to watch. Dillon Charalambous rode solid on his 125 for 3rd. Danny Lailvaux and Wesley DuPlooy rode well, but both had 1 bad heat which kept them off the podium.

Sacha won the MX1 heat easy. Grant Frerichs would finish 2nd ahead of Ian Topliss in heat 1 and Chad Taylor in heat 2. Chad Taylor is looking stronger and stronger and will be a factor in this class if he can get fit again and find a bit of consistency. Was also nice to see Alain Pretorius back in the field after injury.

#54 Sacha Naude

The ladies class as won by Amy Sawyer and she was dicing with the men in the vets class. 2nd went to Bianca Prout Jones on her new KTM 125, with Jessie Lee Davidson in 3rd. Thuli Radebe was 4th ahead of Libbie Janse VanRensburg.

The vets was clearly won by Marc Ansley. He is in top form in 2013. 2nd was a bit tighter, but Nicolaas Van Der Linden fought through to get 2nd overall. Cahrlie Stebbing and Brendan Raubenheimer fought over 3rd with each rider swapping podiums. Glen Herman won the masters class.

#10 Marc Ansley

The open support class was a nice full gate again and provided some excellent riding. Andrew Beeston won the Skull Candy headphones for holeshotting both heats. The win would go to Rudolph Pretorius ahead of the Botswana rider Brad Pieterse and the Polokwane man, Darrel Lehman in 3rd.

At the half way stage of the series, things are looking great in the championships with no run away leaders at this stage. It should be tight all the way to the final.

The next round is at the famous Syringa circuit and I can't wait.

For pictures from the event contact:
SLN-PHOTOGRAPHY - 082 560 0519
sln-photography@live.co.za . www.sln-photography.com

Close this Window