Race Preview: WOMZA Monster Energy MX National Round 1: Port Elizabeth
23 February 2014

Published with Permission
Submitted by Clayton Barnardo.

Once again the 50cc class has attracted many entries. This is so encouraging, as these little ones are the future of our sport. The favourites are the two locals, A.J. Fourie and Zack “attack” Newby. Fourie will just be out of his cast so Zack should have the edge. Let’s not discount Tyler Tarantino, JHB, and Breece Romans, EL, who have been showing some great talent lately.

In the 65cc class Jono Mlimi and Camden McLellan promise to be quick, but challenges are sure to come from Ethan Coleman and Ike Klaassen, the Cape Town pair (who are both very comfortable and consistent in the sand). The 85cc junior will be a cracker. Dalton Venter has awesome pace at the moment and Matthew Green will want to prove his worth as a contender for the title this year. Calvin Jean Jacques is also displaying some great resolve, so let’s see if he is able to unseat the favourites. Grant ‘Hitman” Hutton has been putting in some decent practice and don’t forget Sangster the ‘sandman’ from Cape Town. These two are experienced sand riders and could cause an upset.

Three of the JHB contenders for the 85cc junior class. From left, Calvin Jean-Jacques, Christiaan Cilliers, Dalton Venter

In the Pro Mini class we expect a titanic battle between Seth Van Den Abeele and Keegan Hickson-Mahoney, with Slade Smith and Matthew Kruger in the mix.

There are strong contenders in the 125cc class, including Dirco van der Westhuizen, who will have his time cut out as Nicholas Adams too, will want to go for gold. Young Matt Van Galen and Bevin Potgieter will put up a fight, as will the other Cape Town hopeful, Conor Fletcher.

In the MX 2 class, Anthony Raynard has vowed to try to win the title back. He’ll have to fight hard though, as there are plenty of experienced riders in this class. Tristan Purdon has put in a lot of time at the track lately and Zane Farquharson, returning after a serious back injury, is determined to make his mark in that class.

Anthony Raynard – determined to do well in the sand and take the MX 2 title this year.

We will hold our breath and make no predictions for the MX 1 class as Sacha Naude, Marc “The Bomber” Baxter, Anthony Raynard and some other big names are all contenders.

The MX 3 class will see our MX legends showcase their worth and amazing skill and fitness when Alec Combrink, Terence Monk and Adrian De Hutton go bar to bar.

Entries close on 25 February and no late entries or entries on the day will be accepted. Payment can, however, be made at documentation. For further information contact the Rover MX Chairperson and National Convenor, Clayton Barnardo : 083 234 5852

BACK / Close this Window


© Copyright 2011 - 2014 Motocross South Africa. All Rights Reserved.
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy

Follow us on Facebook! Follow us on Twitter! MX SA on You Tube! Junior Motocross Academy Diamonds & Dirt: Women's Dirt Bike Club Follow us on Facebook! Follow us on Twitter! MX SA on You Tube! HOME