Race Report: CTMX Cape Town MX National - Melkbos
29 April 2014

Published with Permission
Submitted by CTMX

Cape Town Motocross Club

Well, round 2 of the WOMZA Monster Energy TRP series is over and what a success. The weather was fantastic and racing conditions near perfect. All of the top riders were there and a total of 150 of South Africa’s best entered the respective classes.
As the riders rolled into Melkbos on Friday afternoon, they were greeted with the Cape hospitality – this year there was no braaied snoek but individually prepared helpings of delicious pickled fish was handed out. This, together with fresh hot cross buns. This created a welcoming, friendly and relaxed environment where our MX community enjoyed a few drinks and the riders checked out the track.

The track was manicured to perfection and yes, Melkbos is really a true MX track. It got very rough and our riders demonstrated their true skill and ability to race according to the conditions. There were a few tumbles in the sand and the only minor injury was a dislocated shoulder. This was the best record in a number of years so well done CTMX on the choice, design and preparation of the track.
The event attracted a record number of spectators but the catering was superb, with great food choices. There were a number of interesting stalls dotted around so a truly professional display.
Day one started on time and after a short prayer and playing the national anthem, the stage was set for a showdown of note.

In the 50cc junior class local favourite, Liam Lambert, had to settle for a third place behind fellow Capetonian, Neil Van der Vyver in second place with the top slot going to Liam Botha of East London. Lambert battled to keep the bike upright and this cost him valuable points.

In the 50cc Pro class Daiyaan Manual dominated proceedings and won all 3 heats. Second place went to Chase Hanekom and John-Henri Vaughan occupied third spot on the podium.

All three heats in the 65cc class were won by Camden Mc Lellan but not without a worthy challenge from local favourite, Ethan Coleman in heat 1. Coleman led for the first lap and a half before Mc Lellan was able to make a pass. In second spot was Jono Mlimi, and the comeback kid, Christiaan Cilliers, took third. Coleman ended on equal points but had to settle for 4th overall.

The 85cc class was a one man affair with Slade Smith proving that he is by far the best 85cc small wheel rider in the country. Second was Cayle Dormehl and the final spot on the podium was secured by Matthew Green. Heat 2 saw a massive crash which effectively put local favourite, Justin Sangster, and the PE No 1, Grant Hutton, out of contention.

In the Pro mini class there was a real mixed bag of results. In heat 1 Seth van den Abeele secured a convincing win. In heat 2 the tables were turned with Keegan Hickson Mahony destroying the field and winning by a country mile. In the final heat it was Van den Abeele who came back strong. The final result was Van Den Abeele first, Hickson Mahoney second, and Janes Van Sandwyk third.

In the 125cc Junior class, Bevin Potgieter won the day followed by Jason Visser and Dirco van der Westhuizen in third. In the 125cc senior class it was Conor Fletcher, who earned top honours, followed by James Coetzer in second and Luke Du Toit with a worthy third – all from Cape Town.

The MX 2 class entertained the crowds as expected, with Wyatt Avis proving too good for local favourite, Anthony Raynard, who ended second. Third place went to Kerim Fitz-Gerald. This class attracted a good number of entries with a titanic battle that waged in the first 5 laps between the top three and the chasers, Tristan Purdon, Ross Branch and Sasha Naude.

Some of the 28 MX 2 riders who entered the class on 19 & 20 April

In the MX 1 class Sacha Naude dominated proceedings and won all three heats. Worthy challenges came from Michael Kok, Lloyd Vercueil and Royce Griffin. The overall result was Naude first, Fitz-Gerald second and Vercueil third. The “KOKSTAR”, true to form, threw his helmet into the crowds followed by his goggles, gloves and race jersey at the end of the day, much to the delight of the spectators.

Michael Kok – powers through the sand at Melkbos on 19 April 2014

In the Vets, Masters and Grand masters the following stalwarts took the honours. Vets - first Roger Bergstrom, second Jan Ryan and third Nico Coetzee. Masters - first Alec Combrink, second Terence Monk and third Adrian De Hutton – all from Cape Town. Grand masters – first Geoff Den, second Rod Bergstrom and third Francois Du Plooy.

Round 3 takes us to Teza – we look forward to seeing you all there.

BACK / Close this Window


© Copyright 2011 - 2014 Motocross South Africa. All Rights Reserved.
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy

Follow us on Facebook! Follow us on Twitter! MX SA on You Tube! Junior Motocross Academy Diamonds & Dirt: Women's Dirt Bike Club Follow us on Facebook! Follow us on Twitter! MX SA on You Tube! HOME